Skip to content

Mulberry Bushes

January 19, 2010

Today, I was trying to resolve my snail-mail delivery issues.  It reminded me of the song “Here we go round the mulberry bush…” 

For three years now, I have lived in one place.  Never had a key to the mailbox where I live.  The postal service people had said to ask my landlord.  Both landlords [yes, I have had two at the same place] told me there were no keys. Unfortunately, it wasn’t my landlord that I needed to ask, it was the property managers. 

“here we go ’round the mulberry bush”…

I found out this out today, after three years of struggling with the lack of keys.  I had bought a P.O. Box to be able to accept mail.  But paypal lists both the P.O.B. and street address.  When I have purchased through paypal, it seems to automatically go to the street address no matter how it’s listed… P.O. Box first or street address first.  

“here we go ’round the mulberry bush”…

Last week [Monday] I filled out a form requesting that the post office forward my mail from the street address to the P.O. Box.  Unfortunately, the packages were sent and delivered more quickly than the speed of light, or my car could get me to the post office.  Probably, while I filling out the request for the mail forwarding, the mailman delivered my packages to the street address where I have no key to unlock the box.

“here we go ’round the mulberry bush”…

I went to the property manager, got a key.  Tried the key, and it did not work.  Went back and got another key [she said it seemed to be slightly different], it did not work.  Now, the postal service maintenance guy is going to check the lock tomorrow. 

But, I am not going to be home, I will be at work…40 minutes away…all day.  They took my phone number to call me and let me know what is going on with the lock.  Maybe then I can get the packages that the tracking numbers from USPS say have been delivered [over a week ago]. 

*dancing around the mulberry bush until then….*

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

