Skip to content

Spirit of Place Series- Part 2

October 24, 2011

“Spirit of Place” is grouping of paintings and collage paintings that is a continuing series.  The artwork shown here is “Unfold Your Own Myth”.

Spirit of Place: Unfold Your Own Myth

My “Spirit of Place” series began while I was in college, in a masters program, the year was 2002.  The series started on Masonite board, using only a little collage elements, leaves.  I was tentative with color and paint, utilizing very thin and layered glazes.

Between 2003 and 2008 the series was on the “back burner”.  Masonite was inexpensive, but heavy to move around, especially cumbersome to store.  In 2008 I did a couple studies in a sketchbook on the series.  Then, in 2009 I picked up the series again while teaching.

It was an excellent way to show technique to my students, and work on my own art at the same time.  At that time, I worked on canvas.  It took longer to complete the two artworks done on canvas due to my work schedule.  The works “Spirit of Place: Who is Hunting Whom?” and “Spirit of Place: Blessing” were completed in 2009 and 2010 respectively.

I started doing groups of three artworks on art paper in the fall of 2010.  Some were in the “Spirit of Place” series, some were another series in which I am working.  Each of the three have similar attributes, but also variances.  The variances make the artworks appear as a group or triptych.

I kept this particular grouping very simple, with a flower design rather than my usual plants with bulbous bases. It uses a variety of papers for constructing the imagery, in a true collage format.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

