Skip to content

Arts Festival

June 11, 2012

Iowa City Arts Festival


The booth was sponsored by a local downtown store named Lorenz 2.0.  The owner had invited the handmade artists who sell jewelry in the store to participate in the booth.  The fair asked for demonstrations and several of us jewelers participated.

When I left my house, I forgot to take the box of display items to the car.  So, my daughter suggested that I go to the sale at Hobby Lobby and pick up some things there.  We found a tall female torso with a wire skirt in hot pink, and a second wire piece with an oval opening that I could place my sign. You can see my display below:

Close-up shot of the display

I had my demonstration on Saturday.  I realized that I had forgotten a couple of items at home that were needed for the demo, so I went to the Dick Blick store across the street from the fair.  My demonstration was on putting images under domed glass on “metal plates” for earrings and pendants. I showed how to make them, as well as the finishing touches. Such as, attaching pierced earring wires and clasps for bracelets or necklaces.  Here I am doing the demonstration:

Going to the fair gave me the opportunity to finally meet the owner of the Lorenz 2.0 store, thank you Ann! I also got to meet the girls that work for Ann and several other jewelry artists.  Here is my display of the jewelry displays from inside Lorenz 2.0:

she actually has the jewelry all over the store, but this is one of the displays with my own pieces.

While doing the demonstration, I got some ideas from visitors to the booth.  I will implement these ideas very soon, and you get to read about it here in my blog site!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2012 11:07 am

    Finally a smart blogger…I love how you’re thinking and writing!

  2. June 26, 2012 9:54 am

    Heya! I understand this is kind of off-topic however I needed to ask. Does running a well-established website like yours require a large amount of work? I am brand new to writing a blog but I do write in my diary every day. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

  3. June 28, 2012 9:11 pm

    Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your theme. Cheers

  4. June 28, 2012 9:31 pm

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on. Many thanks

  5. July 3, 2012 9:20 pm

    Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  6. July 5, 2012 9:18 am

    Hey, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog site in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, excellent blog!

Leave a Reply

