Skip to content

Fabric Cuffs-Design Process

February 7, 2015

Fabric Cuffs: The Design Process

 

My thought was to keep a journal record of my design idea process. The first step is to look at the fabrics that I intend to use for the cuffs, and any trims.

design ideas-4

Once the color-scheme is chosen, then the construction can begin.

No “pattern” was used to create the cuffs.  I had the concept in my head, and worked from that to create the basic cuff.

cuff project-1Here it is, after sewing the pieces together

Then I decided on my embellishments. I kinda got ahead of myself and should have done this before the back and front were sewn together.  But it still worked…

wrist cuff process2Nearly finished cuffs

Now it is time to finish.  Instead of an invisible hand-sewn slip-stitch, I chose to top stitch it all together.  An extra decorative touches!

Voila!!

You will soon be able to find these cuffs on my etsy site: GaiasEarthlyDelights

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

